HOME     IIABA     Big I Markets     InsurBanc     Virtual University     Trusted Choice  
Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of Arizona
Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of Arizona
MEMBER LOGIN 
    remember user id 
 
 go
   
FIND AN AGENT
 
Forgot username or password?
Wednesday, 07/30/2014email print

CE Requirements
 

Arizona’s Continuing Education

Updated July 26, 2013 – by The Arizona Department of Insurance


LIMITED-LINE-ONLY PRODUCER LICENSES THAT EXPIRE ON OR AFTER SEPTEMBER 13, 2013
On and after September 13, 2013, insurance continuing education is no longer required
 to renew a license that only provides limited-line insurance producer authority. ARS § 20–2901(10)Arizona offers credit insurance producer license authority and travel, accident and baggage insurance producer license authority. If you ONLY hold one (or both) of these lines of authority on your license, you will not need to complete insurance continuing education if your license expires on or after September 13, 2013. If you hold any other type of insurance producer authority on your license, see the requirements for MAJOR-LINE LICENSES, below.


MAJOR-LINE PRODUCER LICENSES:

If the term of the license that you are renewing began before January 1, 2014
, complete 40 hours of insurance continuing education during your license term if you are an Arizona-resident insurance producer who held a non-resident insurance producer license in another state at any time during the license term.

If the term of the license that you are renewing began on or after January 1, 2014 (which means that your license expires no earlier than January 31, 2017), complete 48 hours of Arizona-approved insurance continuing education, which must include at least six hours of ethics training UNLESS you are exempt from the insurance continuing education requirement by having all the following apply (and continue to apply):

  • You have been "continuously licensed" in Arizona as an insurance agent, broker or producer since January 1, 1995; and,
  • You have not held a nonresident insurance producer license in another state at any time since January 1, 1995; and,
  • You have never been the subject of an order of the director of insurance for a violation of Arizona insurance laws (ARS Title 20) that resulted in your license being suspended, revoked, denied or not renewed; or, that required you to cease and desist from unlawful activity; or, that required you to pay restitution or a civil penalty.

ARIZONA-APPROVED INSURANCE CONTINUING EDUCATION
Prometric 
is Arizona's insurance continuing education administrator. They approve continuing education courses and course providers. When you complete a continuing education course, the course provider will provide information to Prometric that they, in turn, provide to us. ARS § 20-2904

You can earn credit toward the Arizona insurance continuing education requirement by completing any course that has been approved for Arizona insurance continuing education that is offered by any Arizona-approved course provider. You can search for Arizona-approved courses and course providers on the Prometric "Arizona Licensees" web page (https://www.prometric.com/en-us/clients/CE/Pages/azceprod.aspx). Information on the Prometric site will tell you the total number of credit hours you will earn by completing each course, and will specify the number of ethics training hours, flood training hours or long-term care training hours you will earn by completing the course.

Arizona's insurance continuing education requirements provide you the opportunity to expand your knowledge of insurance.
  • You can take any Arizona-approved insurance continuing education course you want, even if it is for a type of insurance you do not hold on your license. You could even use the training to help you study for an insurance exam, as long as the course and provider are approved for Arizona insurance continuing education.
  • You can complete your insurance continuing education with any combination of classroom courses, web-based courses or other types of courses (as long as the courses are Arizona-approved and provided by an Arizona-approved course provider).
  • You do not need to complete a minimum number of hours in any particular area of study except for ethics, flood (if applicable) or long-term care (if applicable).
  • You can get Arizona insurance continuing education credit while satisfying another training requirement (like the long-term care partnership training requirement or flood insurance training requirement) as long as the course you take is an Arizona-approved insurance continuing education course offered by an Arizona-approved insurance continuing education provider.

HOW TO OBTAIN A TRANSCIPT OF COURSES YOU COMPLETED
To view your course completion transcript or someone else's course completion transcriptclick here. Prometric only has information that course providers have reported. If you completed a course that does not appear on the transcript, contact your course provider and encourage them to report to Prometric.
On the Look Up Transcript Credits page:
  • Step 1: Select the "Online Services, including continuing education transcript look-ups and a list of approved CE courses, may be accessed by clicking here”" option
  • Step 2: Select "Continuing Education Transcript Inquiry" and select "Arizona" .
  • Enter your License # and Last Name, and click the "Submit" button

HOW TO RENEW YOUR LICENSE IF YOU COMPLETED COURSES THAT ARE NOT SHOWING ON YOUR CONTINUING EDUCATION TRANSCRIPT
Your course provider and Prometric require time to post information about course completions. If you need to renew your license before your course completions are posted in your transcript:
  • Use the Insurance Professional License Update System (IPLUS) to update address and telephone information.
  • Use IPLUS to print a renewal application.
  • Submit your •printed renewal application with •signed originals of your insurance continuing education certificates of completion (which must show the Arizona state seal in the upper left corner), •any other required materials and •nonrefundable fees...
    • By mail (must arrive in our office on or before the expiration date of your license) or.
    • In person during our Licensing Counter business hours.
Click here for our address, business hours and other contact information.
 

HOW TO COMPLETE INSURANCE CONTINUING EDUCATION
Don’t delay!  If you are required to complete insurance continuing education, you must do so before submitting your license renewal application.  If the Department of Insurance does not receive a complete and correct renewal application (including any additional required materials) and the license fee on or before the expiration of your license, you will be required to pay an additional $100 as a late renewal fee.
  • Find an Arizona-approved continuing education course with the following steps:
    1. Visit Prometric's "Arizona Licensees" page.
    2. Click on the "CE Services Online" link in the left column.
    3. In the left column, click on the "Approved Course List" link. The web site will display a page that enables you to create a list of courses by course title, course type (classroom or self-study), credit type (general, ethics, flood, long-term care, crop) or range of credit hours.
    4. When you click the "Search" button, the web site will search Prometric's database of courses and will display the list of courses that match the criteria you entered. Scroll down to view the list.
  • Call the course provider or visit their web site to find out the prices of courses, when courses are available, and other information you may need concerning their courses.
  • Complete your courses.
    1. For classroom instruction, you must attend the entire course to get credit for completing the course.
    2. For self-study courses, you must pass an open-book or closed-book exam (at the discretion of the provider) monitored by the provider director or a person appointed by the provider director who is either an Arizona-licensed insurance producer or a person in the business of administering education or examinations.
  • After you complete your course,
    1. Make sure the continuing education provider gives you a course completion certificate (aka "certificate of compliance" per ARS § 20-2902(B)), which is your proof that you completed the course
    2. If you submit a license renewal application on paper, include originals of the course completion certificates. ARS § 20-2902(B).
    3. Keep copies of your course completion certificates until the second renewal period after the period for which the continuing education credits were earned. ARS § 20-2903(A).
  • Make sure the course provider has reported your course completion to Prometric by obtaining a continuing education transcript.


LONG-TERM CARE TRAINING
Initial training requirement: 
An individual licensee cannot sell, solicit or negotiate long-term care insurance unless the individual is licensed as an accident and health or sickness insurance producer and the individual completes eight hours of Arizona-approved long-term care training*. ARS § 20-1691.12(A)(2) A nonresident must either complete an Arizona-approved long-term care training course or satisfy a substantially similar requirement in the licensee's home state. ARS § 20-1691.12(F)

On-going training requirement: An individual licensee must complete four hours of Arizona-approved long-term care training* after the two-year period within which the individual completed the initial long-term care training. ARS § 20-1691.12(A)(3) A nonresident must either complete Arizona-approved long-term care training or satisfy a substantially similar requirement in the licensee's home state. ARS § 20-1691.12(F)

*Arizona-approved long-term care training means an Arizona-approved insurance continuing education course containing long-term care content as determined by the continuing education administrator. By completing long-term care training, you also earn credit that you can apply toward satisfying Arizona's insurance continuing education requirement.


FLOOD INSURANCE TRAINING
Satisfy the National Flood Insurance Program training requirements and earn credits toward satisfying Arizona's insurance continuing education requirement by completing three hours of Arizona-approved flood insurance education. See Department of Insurance Regulatory Bulletin 2006-09 for details.


FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Question: Why must I have been continuously licensed since January 1, 1995, to be able to avoid taking Arizona insurance CE?

Answer
: Because Arizona law, and specifically A.R.S. § 20-2902(A)(2), exempts a person who has been licensed since January 1, 1995, from the Arizona insurance continuing education requirement. If you have not been continuously licensed since January 1, 1995, you do not qualify for the exemption under the law.

Question: I hold insurance-related certifications, accreditations or other professional credentials. Am I required to complete Arizona insurance continuing education?

Answer
: Arizona law does not provide any exceptions based on certifications, accreditations, memberships in professional organizations or other professional credentials.
 

Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of Arizona, Inc.
e-mail: info@iiabaz.com
333 East Flower Street  -  Phoenix, Arizona 85012
Phone: 602-956-1851   Toll: 800-627-3356   Fax: 602-468-1392

Holiday Schedule
We will be closed on the following dates:
July 4, 2014 - Independence Day
September 1, 2014 - Labor Day
November 27-28, 2014 - Thanksgiving Holiday
December 25-26, 2014 - Christmas Holiday
December 31, 2014 - New Year's Eve

This publication is intended to provide accurate and authoritative information on the subject matter covered and is distributed
with the understanding that neither Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of Arizona, nor any contributing author or publisher
is rendering legal, accounting, or other professional services and assume no liability whatsoever in connection with its use.

Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of Arizona, Inc's Endorsement Policy

 

Copyright © 2014; Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of Arizona, Inc.    All rights reserved.  
No portion of this site may be reproduced in any manner without the prior written consent of IIAB of Arizona.

Privacy Policy     Terms of Use     Site Map