Continuing Education Requirements
All insurance producers, adjusters and consultant licensees must complete insurance continuing education as part of the biennial (two year) renewal process.
When do I file?
Every producer, adjuster and consultant license has a license lapse or renew by date on the upper right side. That is the date by which insurance continuing education requirements must be completed and filed.
How many credit hours must I complete?
Licensees must complete 24 credit hours of Montana-approved insurance continuing education. A minimum of 1 credit hour must address legislative changes to Montana insurance statutes.
What if I'm ONLY licensed for the line of limited lines credit?
Producer licensees with only the line of limited lines credit must complete 5 credit hours of Montana-approved insurance continuing education in the categories of credit life and credit disability insurance, insurance law and/or ethics. A minimum of one credit must address legislative changes to Montana insurance statutes.
When do I have to earn my credit hours?
Credit hours are earned during the 24-month period that precedes the license lapse/renew by date on the face of the license. That allows 24 months to earn 24 credit hours.
How do I report my CE courses?
Every licensee is mailed a hard copy reporting form 2 months before the license lapse or renew by date. (This is a gentle reminder and provides enough time to complete the requirement before the lapse date.) Licensees can send the completed forms (and fee for consultants and adjusters) to the:
Insurance Continuing Education Program
840 Helena Avenue
Helena, Montana 59601
Enter your CE Online: https://svc.mt.gov/csi/apps/login.aspx
Adjuster and consultant licensees must also mail the Individual License Renewal form and fee in addition to reporting continuing education on-line.
Can I rollover credit hours?
No, there is no rollover or carry over of excess credit hours earned in one biennial period to the next biennial period.
Can I repeat a course?
No, there is no repeat of a course from the same course provider for credit. A course of the same or similar title or topic offered by a different course provider is considered a different course, not a repeat.
When will I get my renewal License?
Renewal licenses are printed and mailed to the address of record after the license lapse/renew by date and prior to the first day of the next month.
I didn’t complete my required CE by my license lapse/renew by date, now what?
Your Montana licensure lapsed on your license lapse/renew by date. You must submit the outstanding insurance continuing education credit and file a reinstatement form with the $100 reinstatement fee. You cannot conduct Montana insurance business until your licensure is reinstated.
How long do I have to reinstate my licensure?
Licensees have 1 year from the license lapse date to reinstate a license. After that, the license terminates. The terminated licensee must retest and reapply to conduct Montana insurance business.
I’m newly licensed, when do I begin earning credit toward my continuing education requirement?
Credit hours are earned during the 24-month period that precedes the license lapse/renew by date on the face of the license, not before. That allows 24 months to earn 24 credit hours.