HOME     IIABA     Big I Markets     InsurBanc     Virtual University     Trusted Choice     InVEST  
Independent Insurance Agents Association<br/>of Montana, Inc.
Independent Insurance Agents Association
of Montana, Inc.
MEMBER LOGIN 
    remember user id 
 
 go
   
FIND AN AGENT
 
Forgot username or password?
Friday, 10/31/2014email print

Frequently Asked Questions:

How many hours of CE do I need?
Do I need Law?
When do I have to take Ethics?
How do I register?
What classes do you offer?
Can I pay with credit card?
How do I file my CE credits?
Where can I check my CE credits?
What do I do if my license lapses?  

Q. How many hours of CE do I need?

A. All licensees other than limited lines credit insurance producers must complete 24 credit hours of continuing education in their 2 year reporting period. Of those 24 credit hours, a minimum of 1 must be in changes to Montana insurance statutes and administrative rule. Beginning in 2010, you will also be required to complete 3 credit hours in Ethics.

Limited lines credit insurance producers must complete 5 hours of continuing education in their 2 year reporting period.

back to top 


Q. Do I need to take Law?

A. Yes. You are required by the State of Montana to complete at least 1  credit hour in changes to Montana insurance statutes and administrative rules during every two-year period. Don't remember when you last took one of our law seminars? Call the MIEF office at (406) 442-9555 xt 106.

back to top


Q. When do I have to take ethics?

A.  The January 1st 2010 roll-out date has many confused on just when they need to take this course. So how can you know?

The first thing you need to do is get out your license. Next, take a look at your “Renew By” date. This is the deadline for reporting your 24 hours of CE. If your renewal date is in 2010, you don’t have to take the Ethics class until after that date. If your renewal date is in 2011, you don’t have to take the class until after that date. Examples:

 

Renew by date February 2010:

Take ethics after Feb. 1, 2010

Renew by date August 2010:

Take Ethics after Aug. 1, 2010 

Renew by date January 2011:
Take Ethics after Jan. 1, 2011

Renew by date April 2011:
Take Ethics after April 1, 2011 

  

back to top


 

 

Q. What classes do you offer?

A. MIEF offers the CISR and CIC designation programs, as well as numerous additional course topics throughout the year. See our Online Schedule for dates and locations.

back to top


Q. How do I register?

A. You can register online with credit card or mail in the paper registration form with a check. To register, go to our online schedule.

back to top


Q. Can I pay with credit card?

A. Yes. You can register online and pay with credit card at our online schedule. Use the register online link provided in the class listing.

back to top


Q. How do I file my CE credits?

A. The insurance department now has an online "paperless" reporting system available for producers. Visit their website to report your CE credits.

back to top


Q. Where can I check my CE credits?

A. You can check your CE credits through the insurance department website.

back to top


Q. What do I do if my license lapses?

A. Contact the insurance department at (406) 444-2040 to determine why your license lapsed. Follow their instructions. The following forms may be useful in getting your license reinstated: Resident Producer License Reinstatement Form    Licensee Written Certification Form 

back to top


If you have additional questions that aren't answered here, please give us a call at (406) 442-9555 or send an email to education@iiamt.org

 

 

 

 

Serving the People of Montana since 1932. If you pass us by, we both lose!

Independent Insurance Agents Association of Montana, Inc.
3131 Dredge Drive · Helena, MT 59602
Tel: 406-442-9555  ·  Fax: 406-442-8263
Email:
info@iiamt.org

Privacy Policy     Terms of Use     Site Map