HOME     IIABA     Big I Markets     InfoBank     Career Center     InsurBanc     Virtual University     Trusted Choice     InVEST  
Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of New Jersey
Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of New Jersey
MEMBER LOGIN 
    remember user id 
 
 go
   
FIND AN AGENT
 
Forgot username or password?
Thursday, 04/24/2014email print


 

 

CE REQUIREMENTS

New Jersey Moves to Two Year Licensing Cycle / 24 CE Credit Hours
Beginning with licenses that expired on January 31, 2007, producers renew on a two year basis, as opposed to four. During the transition period, producers will be issued a license which will be renewable at the end of their birth month. In some cases, the first time this happens the producer will have 19 to 29 months according to his/her birth month. Please keep in mind that during the transitional license period (whether it is initially 20 months or 29 months) and each two year license period thereafter, in order to qualify for renewal, a licensee must demonstrate that he or she has completed 24 credit hours of continuing education courses during the previous license term, three of which shall have been in approved courses related to professional ethics. 

For information on the Transitional License Period, NJAC:17-2.1(b), click here.

 


Individuals Selling Long Term Care Insurance
NJ insurance producers are required to complete a one-time training course of at least eight (8) hours in order to sell, solicit or negotiate long-term care insurance. IIABNJ/IIABA offered an online course to satisfy this requirement. Access to the course can be found at: www.LTCPartnershipsOnline.com/bigivuLTC. After taking the initial course, producers will be required to have four hours of ongoing training every 24 months. 

 


Track Your Continuing Education Credits Online

To track your CE credits online, visit the PSI Continuing Education Services page on the PSI website. You will be required to enter your NJ License Reference Number to access the page. If you do not have your license reference number, you may look it up at: https://www16.state.nj.us/DOBI_LicSearch/.

This will provide you with a report of the CE courses that you have taken during your license renewal period.  If you notice that a course is missing from your records, be sure to contact the school where you took the course so that they may make the correction with PSI Services.


NJAC 11:17-3.6 Continuing Education Regulation

Continuing Education

(a) For licenses issued for a four-year term, no resident individual insurance producer licensed with life, accident and health or sickness, property, casualty, surplus lines, title, variable life and variable annuity or personal lines authority shall be renewed unless the renewal applicant demonstrates that he or she has completed 48 credit hours of approved continuing education courses during the previous four years, six of which shall be in approved courses related to insurance fraud, professional ethics or any other subject matter required by the Commissioner for the protection of consumers. Producers licensed as of November 4, 2002 shall have until the second renewal following November 4, 2002 to comply with the requirement to obtain six credits in approved courses related to insurance fraud, professional ethics or any other subject matter required by the Commissioner for the protection of consumers.

1. For licenses initially issued on or after January 1, 2007 and, subject to (a)2 below, for renewals on or after January 1, 2007, no resident individual insurance producer licensed with life, accident and health or sickness, property, casualty, surplus lines, title, variable life and variable annuity or personal lines authority shall be renewed unless the renewal applicant demonstrates that he or she has completed 24 credit hours of approved continuing education courses during the previous license term, three of which shall have been in approved courses related to professional ethics.

2. During the transition period from four-year license terms to two-year license terms based upon the individual producer's date of birth as set forth in N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.1(b), if the term of their expiring license was four years, in order to qualify for renewal, a resident individual producer licensee shall demonstrate that he or she has completed 48 hours of continuing education credits during the prior license term, six of which shall have been in approved courses related to professional ethics or fraud. If the term of their expiring license was two years or is a transitional term as described in N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.1(b), in order to qualify for renewal, such a licensee shall demonstrate that he or she has completed 24 credit hours of continuing education courses during the previous license term, three of which shall have been in approved courses related to professional ethics.

3. With respect only to the first renewal following the initial issuance or initial renewal of a license on or after January 1, 2007, no resident individual insurance producer with property authority who writes flood insurance shall be renewed unless the renewal applicant demonstrates that, as part of their total continuing education obligation as set forth above, he or she has completed a three credit hour approved continuing education course related to flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program during the previous license term.

(b) For a contact course, a credit hour shall provide no less than 50 minutes of instruction. Breaks, announcements and time not spent in instruction shall not be included in calculating credit hours requested. For self-study courses, credit hours include time for reading and study, which the Department has approved as reasonable to successfully pass the final examination. Time taking the examination is not counted towards approved credit hours. Each continuing education course submitted for approval shall be in whole credit hours and shall contain at least two hours of instruction or time spent for reading and study. No continuing education course will be approved for more than 24 credit hours, regardless of the actual number of hours of instruction, reading or study.

(c) Self-study courses shall be considered for approval if the program of instruction culminates in a monitored examination of the subject presented. A monitored examination is not required for an interactive, online program that the Department determines has sufficient internal testing to validate the student's full comprehension of the material presented.

(d) Producers satisfying credit requirements in a state other than New Jersey will be considered to have satisfied New Jersey's continuing education requirements if the home state recognizes the satisfaction of its continuing education requirements imposed upon New Jersey producers on the same basis.

(e) Producers who fulfill the continuing education requirements for a professional insurance designation approved by the Department shall be awarded 12 credit hours for each full year of the license period preceding renewal for which these requirements were fulfilled. Application to obtain such approval shall be made on a form approved by the Department and accompanied by an official document or transcript from the organization awarding such designation.

(f) Approved insurance education providers shall submit courses for approval by the Department at least 30 days prior to the date the course is to begin. This 30-day requirement may be waived upon a showing by the program of unusual circumstances that require immediate action:

1. A request for continuing education credit certification shall be made on a form prescribed by the Department which shall contain the following information:

i. The name, code number and contact information of the approved insurance education provider submitting the course;

ii. An outline of the course including the time allowed for each topic;

iii. A copy of the table of contents for any textbooks used;

iv. For self-study courses that are not interactive, online courses:

(1) A copy of a sample competency examination, including answers;

(2) The amount of time allowed for the exam;

(3) A statement of how the integrity of the exam will be maintained; and

(4) A statement of how the exam will be monitored to assure the enrolled licensee takes the exam;

v. For interactive, online courses:

(1) Online access with instructions for the Department to review the course;

(2) Evidence of the internal testing included with the course; and

(3) Details of how access shall be controlled to assure the enrolled licensee completes the course;

vi. The number of hours proposed for the course; and

vii. Such other information as may, in the opinion of the Department, be necessary to evaluate the course for certification of continuing education credits.

2. If a continuing education course has been approved for use in the resident state of an insurance education provider and the resident state accepts courses approved by New Jersey for its resident insurance providers, the Department shall approve such courses unless the content is prohibited under (f)4 below. The insurance education provider shall submit evidence of such approval with the information required in (f)1 above.

3. Effective January 1, 2007, each request for approval of a continuing education course shall be charged a processing fee of $20.00. The Commissioner may determine the billing and collection format for periodic collection of course processing fees from providers.

4. Approval shall be considered for courses that include information on types of insurance products, insurance practices, ethics, insurance fraud, insurance taxation, relevant state or national laws, claims or underwriting practices or procedures or other topics directly related to the business of insurance. Approval shall not be granted for courses dealing in whole or in part with sales training, motivation or personal enrichment, or computer or business skills not specifically related to insurance, nor shall primarily social activities be considered in computing course length.

5. Approval shall be considered for courses that include information on types of insurance products, insurance practices, ethics, insurance fraud, insurance taxation, relevant state or national laws, claims or underwriting practices or procedures or other topics directly related to the business of insurance. Approval shall not be granted for credit hours for course content dealing in whole or in part with sales training, motivation or personal enrichment, or computer or business skills not specifically related to insurance, nor shall primarily social activities be considered in computing course length.

6. Effective January 1, 2007, courses approved pursuant to this subsection shall be approved for a period of time that shall expire at the time that the education provider's approval expires pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.1(e)3. If the provider wishes to continue to use the course following expiration, it must submit a request to renew the approval of the course in a format prescribed by the Department and pay a renewal fee of $10.00. The Commissioner may determine the billing and collection format for periodic collection of course approval renewal processing fees from providers.

(g) The insurance education director or authorized personnel for an approved insurance education provider shall report the names and producer license reference number of those persons completing each continuing education course within 15 days of course completion or certification of continuing education credits, whichever is later, either in hard copy or through electronic submission. The instructor teaching the course may be deemed to have completed it for the purpose of securing continuing education credit. Instructors may only receive credit once for teaching any one approved course once during each license cycle. The report shall be made to the Department, or its designee, in a format prescribed by the Department, and shall include the following information:

1. The insurance education provider name and school code;

2. The name and code number of the continuing education course and date completed; and

3. The number of continuing education credits as certified by the Department.

(h) Producers who request continuing education credit for successful completion of an insurance course from an accredited college or university or for successful completion of a course of study and examination for a course leading to attainment of an approved professional insurance designation shall submit to the Department, in a format prescribed by the Department, the request together with a transcript or other documentation certifying completion of the course and credits awarded.

(i) At least once each year, the Department, or its designee, shall issue to individual resident producers an accounting which shall identify and include the information in (i)1 through 4 below. Written notification to the licensee that the information is available at any time via a secure Internet connection shall satisfy the requirements of this provision.

1. The number of continuing education credits completed, the course or courses taken, and the school code where the credits were completed;

2. The total number of continuing education credits completed;

3. The total number of continuing education credits remaining to be completed; and

4. The license renewal date of the producer.

(j) If the accounting required by (i) above is considered by the resident producer to be inaccurate, he or she shall promptly request the insurance education provider of the approved education program to file with the Department, or its designee, an appropriate corrected report.

(k) In the event the producer asserts that credit has not been recorded for a certified continuing education course completed prior to the renewal of the producer's license, it shall be the sole responsibility of the producer to request the insurance education provider of the approved program where the course was taken to file with the Department, or its designee, a supplemental report of continuing education credits.

(l) Attorneys who are licensed for title insurance only on November 4, 2002, shall submit to the Department, at least three monts{Footnote 1} but not more than one year prior to renewal, a certificate of good standing issued by the Clerk of the Supreme Court of New Jersey accompanied by a completed form prescribed by the Department, which provides the attorney's name, producer reference number, date of birth, social security number and license expiration date. Attorneys who as of November 4, 2002, are licensed for title insurance only, shall have until the second renewal following November 4, 2002 to comply with the continuing education requirements of this section.

{Footnote 1} As in original. Probably should read as "months".

 



 


Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of New Jersey, Inc.
2211 Whitehorse-Mercerville Road, PO Box 3230, Trenton, NJ 08619
PH: 800-952-6948, 609-587-4333  |  FX: 609-587-4515  |  EM: iiabnj@iiabnj.org


Copyright © 2014, Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of New Jersey, Inc.
No portion of the is site may be reproduced in any manner without prior written consent.
All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy     Terms of Use     Site Map